5th Week Trinity Term Student Council: Online Edition

How Student Council: Online Edition works

While social distancing guidelines are in place, we are moving Student Council online! It may look and feel a little different, but we’ve worked hard to ensure all students can still have their voices heard, contribute items to the agenda, stand for election, hold SU officers to account, and continue to shape the work of Oxford SU.

So, here's how it works;

Step 1: Nominations and Submitting agenda items

We still need Council roles! Nominations are open (see role descriptions below). Any student can nominate themselves for election by clicking the 'Nominate' button below or in the timeline. Never gone for one before? Now is probably the perfect time to try, so go ahead.

Agenda items can be many things: a motion to create policy, a motion to mandate an officer, a student project proposal, or a topic for general discussion. Any student may submit an agenda item by clicking the 'Submit and item' button below or in the timeline.

Step 2: Amendments

After the agenda has been published, at 5pm Friday 4th Week, all students are able to read through the items, make comments, join in the discussion, and ask questions in the comment boxes below the item content. Please do state your College and, if you wish, your pronouns when you first comment on an item.

If you find an item which you would like to suggest a change to you can submit an amendment. Any student may submit an amendment by clicking the 'submit an amendment' button in the timeline by 10am Tuesday 5th Week.

Amendments will be sent to the proposer of the agenda item and they may choose to get in contact with you to discuss. By 5pm Tuesday 5th Week the proposer will have taken the amendment as either 'Friendly' or 'Hostile'.

Friendly means changes are immediate, hostile requires a vote to determine whether the changes will be made to the agenda item. Voting on amendments will be 10am - 5pm Wednesday 5th Week and only Common Room delegates, SU Campaign delegates, Divisional Representatives, and SU Sabbatical Officers are able to vote.

Step 3: Reports and questions

SU Sabbatical Officers, Divisional Representatives, and SU Campaigns will all be submitting written, and were possible video, reports. These reports will be linked to from the agenda below at 10am Tuesday 5th Week. Any student may ask questions by posting a comment in the comments section of the report.

The timetable for reports is shown in the table below

  1st Week 3rd Week 5th Week 7th Week
SU Sabbatical Officers All All All All
SU Campaigns Disabilities Campaign,
LGBTQ+ Campaign
Women's Campaign,
Class Act Campaign
International Students' Campaign,
It Happens Here
Campaign for Racial Awareness and Equality (CRAE),
Suspended Students' Campaign
Divisional Representatives MPLS UG,
Social Sciences UG,
Social Sciences PG
Medical Sciences UG,
Medical Sciences PG
Humanities UG,
Humanities PG

Nominations for elections in council will also be published in the agenda below at 10am Tuesday 5th Week. Any student may ask questions of the candidate by commenting the comment section of their nomination.

Step 4: Motions and Elections

Finally, 10am - 23:50pm on Thursday 5th Week voting for motions and elections will open. Only Common Room delegates, SU Campaign delegates, Divisional Representatives, and SU Sabbatical Officers are able to vote.

Elections in Council

We're looking for students to fill the following council roles. Nominations will close at 10am Tuesday 26th May (5th Week).

Steering Committee (x1): Steering Committee is comprised of two elected student steering members, the Chair, the President, and the Returning Officer. Steering is the committee tasked with deciding the agenda for the coming Council. They meet the week before to discuss whether submissions should make it to the agenda, whether they need to be amended, or whether they require ‘steering’ to another committee first. Steering are also the group responsible for ensuring that an All Student Consultation is held, if called for.

Scrutiny Committee (x1): Scrutiny are elected at the start of Michaelmas to serve for the entire academic year. It is their task to interview the Sabbatical officers at the end of each term and ensure that they are doing the job they have been elected to do. Scrutiny will craft a report to be delivered to Council in 7th Week of each term.

Once you've nominated, keep an eye on the elections page as you might have questions from students.



The Agenda will be published 5pm Friday 22nd May (4th Week).



Deadline to submit an agenda item

Thu 21st May (4th Week) | 13:00

Agenda published

Fri 22nd May (4th Week) | 17:00

Deadline to submit amendments

Tue 26th May (5th Week) | 10:00

Submit an

Deadline for reports and election nominations

Tue 26th May (5th Week) | 10:00


Deadline for amendment reponses

Tue 26th May (5th Week) | 17:00

Voting on amendments opens

Wed 27th May (5th Week) | 10:00


Voting on amendments closes

Wed 27th May (5th Week) | 17:00

Voting on final motions opens

Thur 28th May (5th Week) | 10:00


Voting on final motions closes

Thur 28th May (5th Week) | 23:59